Pride goes before a fall.

It takes a while (and for some, longer than others) to feel like you’ve got a pretty good handle on things. I’ve been feeling pretty good about myself for the last few months and I’ve finally felt like I had gained some semblance of command of the situation. In fact, I was dangerously close to feeling smug. In retrospect, I should have seen yesterday coming. The Universe and I have a very peculiar relationship in that it doesn’t care at all about my opinion of it and I spend my time alternating marveling at its complexity and cursing its evil sense of humor.

Thanks to budget cuts, the classroom next to mine has been empty and I’ve taken advantage of this fact to not at all care about how loud my classroom is and to store overflow materials. Yesterday I discovered that a young and super cheerful teacher has moved into that classroom. So now I have to clean out the shared office and pretend to be a pleasant individual. I’m exhausted just thinking about it.

While I was straightening the office, I unearthed a printer from “back in the day” and decided to take it to Media Center and make it Somebody Else’s Problem. Once I got to the Media Center, I realized two things: One, there was a Very Serious Person giving some sort of professional development, and two, our Media Center Maven was way ahead of me and already had a large shelving unit filled with Useless Technology to be disposed of. After a whispered conversation (so as not to disturb the VSP), we decided to put the printer on the top shelf, which was roughly 8 feet off the ground.

Do you see where this is going, Faithful Readers? Can you imagine what happened next?

Of course the printer came crashing down and shattered into dozens of pieces, creating a horrific noise, completely interrupting the VSP, and provoking smirks from everyone present. Now thoroughly embarrassed both because I dropped and broke the printer and interrupted the seminar, the situation was made even more classic because the MC Maven was trying (and failing) to not laugh at me.

This is what happens when you thumb your nose at the Universe.
This is what happens when you thumb your nose at the Universe.

As I slunk out of the Media Center cradling a bleeding finger, I realized that the Universe will always be waiting to spring out at me just when I think I’ve got this whole thing figured out.

5 thoughts on “Pride goes before a fall.

  1. stumpsmcgee

    Thank God the school year started again – how I have missed these! 🙂 If it makes you feel any better, I got scolded by a teacher for talking too loudly because our students were doing their pre-semester benchmark tests. This same teacher is one I usually have to yell at because SHE’S talking too loudly during our state mandated testing. Oh the irony…

    Like

  2. Maven

    This Media Maven still thinks you are awesome. There was no way in &^*%% I could even reach the top shelf, much less put a 30 pound printer on it. I liked watching you flex your muscles and without that laugh yesterday, I would have had an even more seriously depressing day. Hope your thumb gash gets better quickly.
    He, he, he…

    Like

    1. It no longer has an attachment. That’s the part that separated halfway onto the shelf and brought it crashing down. Thank goodness for my cat-like reflexes, that I was able to avoid more serious injury!

      Like

Leave a Reply

