Stay in School, Kids!

IMG_20131202_151652_539
This could all be yours!

The Thanksgiving feast has been devoured with gusto. The RW Clan has made it back to NC whole and relatively unscathed. (I say “relatively” because the IrishPirate and long-time reader Almond got a new puppy and she’s an ankle-biter.)

This brings us to today and my return to the Daily Grind. Continuing my mission of bringing the light of environmental literacy to the huddled masses of the pubescent community. Sure they are mostly zombies after a long weekend of sleeping in, stuffing their faces, and daydreaming about the Christmas presents their parents bought for them on Black Friday, but I bet deep down inside they are excited to be back in class learning the differences and similarities between biomes and ecosystems.

One of my many privileges as a Future Generator buried alive at the Cinder Blocks of Civil Society is the opportunity to encourage students to “stay in school” and “realize their potential.” This struck me as particularly hilarious this morning as I was surveying my empty classroom and thought to myself, “Stay in school children. Be the smartest person in class and go into enormous debt earning a college degree and one day if you are incredibly lucky you end up right back here!” – Perhaps I’m not the best person for this particular part of the job.

I had an honors  economics teacher my senior year in high school who urged us not to go to college. His argument was that we should instead get a job at McDonald’s. By the time the rest of us graduated from college, we’d be the manager at a McDonald’s and their supervisor. I had this lesson driven home to me when I was forced to work at McD’s directly after graduating in order to pay rent before my teaching job started in August.

Today it might be a good idea to advise new high school graduates to take their $200 in graduation money, spend half of it on books about day trading and use the other half to begin investing. In 10 years or so, they’ll be driving around in Lexus’ and bemoaning the ineffectiveness of public education.

Leave a Reply

