The Day Before Thanksgiving

It is the day before Thanksgiving and everyone I know is preparing for tomorrow’s indulgence. Some folks are driving, some are hosting, some are carb-loading so that they are able to resist second helpings tomorrow and “stick to their diet.” A small minority of people are probably even preparing a list of things to be Thankful for when the inevitable question comes up tomorrow.

As it turns out, I actually have a few things to be Thankful for this year and I am going to share them with you even though most of you would rather I didn’t. (It’s my blog and you can’t stop me!)

1. I am Thankful that the tornado that zipped through my neighborhood last night gave my street a miss and refrained from doing much more than knocking down a few trees. It could have been much worse and I’m Thankful that it wasn’t.

2. I poke fun at them quite a bit on this blog, but I’m truly Thankful that the RW Clan is still sticking around. They are pretty amazing people and they help make every day just a little bit better.

3. Every once in a while someone does something truly great and changes the world for the better forever. Because of this, I’m deeply Thankful for whichever person it was that invented pumpkin pie. I cannot even imagine what stroke of genius prompted turning a pumpkin into a pie, but everything about Thanksgiving is now immediately better because of it.

4. Lastly, I am preemptively Thankful for every last idiot that will driving through the horrible weather with me today on my way to the IrishPirate’s house. Yes, they are dangerous and unpredictable, but their moronic behavior and total inability to drive in a civilized manner will allow me to vent all of my natural peevishness so that I can be a perfectly pleasant (if reserved) adult for the entire holiday.

Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

