Problem Solving in Public Education

This past week has been an amazing source of inspiration and inner peace for me. In fact, I feel so in tune with the larger pattern of the cosmos that I’m actually contemplating renewing my guru license.

The final revelation came this last Friday. Friday morning saw me eagerly printing out the latest class list for the first day of school with students on Monday. In my state of blossoming inner peace I noted that one of my classes now had 32 students enrolled in it.

“How wonderful!” I thought to myself. I simply couldn’t believe that in a few short days my life would be blessed by meeting so many eager minds!

Of course my classroom only seats 30 students because of the poorly designed lab tables in the back of the class, but such minor concerns are beneath the notice of Licensed Gurus and I didn’t give it another thought.

Only hours later I made a passing comment on this situation to my Fearless Leader, who (not being a Licensed Guru, apparently) promptly freaked out and demanded of the Universe how this could be allowed to happen. I explained to her that it was no big deal and that the students would be more than happy to sit on the floor or possibly the windowsill, but she insisted that something must be done.

Quick quiz: How would you solve this problem? Would you,

A. Change the number of students to either fit in the space allotted (30) or in accordance with OSHA regulations for a science lab (24)…

Or

B. Find some way of bringing in 2 extra chairs and creating a possible safety hazard and promoting some questionable personal space issues among the students?

HA! It’s a trick question! The correct answer is C. None of the Above. (Don’t you feel stupid now?!) No, the correct and most commonsense answer to this puzzle is to move the teachers around until they are in classrooms of the correct size! DUH!

So Friday afternoon I spent switching my classroom with another teacher (who had already moved his classroom twice that week) and now I’m in a classroom that (theoretically) fits 32 students into it.

Who says that we don’t do problem solving in public education?

Leave a Reply

