Another Day Older and Deeper In Debt

When you grow up in coal country, some things are just part of who you are. You don’t plan it and maybe even if you were given the chance you wouldn’t choose it, but there it is.

One of the things I’m talking about is the almost fatalistic approach to work. People in coal country know two things: 1. You will work your whole life until you die, and 2. Every day at work will feel just a bit harder than the last.

I found myself singing this song for the last two days before I realized what I was doing. I guess that means that it’s time to get back to work.

3 thoughts on “Another Day Older and Deeper In Debt

  1. Gramdam

    I didn’t know Walmart took credit! Those kids better watch those fists of iron and steel and quit screwing around……I know, I start next week. 😦

    Like

  2. stumpsmcgee

    Know what I got out of this post? “WAH, WAH, WAH!!” I started back two weeks ago. I WISH I could be slackers like you all on the East Coast!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

