New and Improved: You

Even though the fine people with enough free time on their hands to actually read my little almost totally obscure corner of the internet simply refuse to offer comments or criticisms on the blog itself, I do occasionally receive emails, texts, and (from Blackberry users) smoke signals telling me that they liked this or that post or wondering if I’ve been taking my medication inappropriately again.

As you can imagine, for a person who craves attention so badly that they actually publish their mindless nonsense in a public forum, it is incredibly satisfying to hear that folks appreciate your efforts and find the tragic tale of your life to be slightly amusing.

And so it was when I received the following (highly edited) email from a dedicated reader:

RW, you have been on a roll and since I’ve started reading your blog, my life has gotten immeasurably better. Every morning I get up and read a post and have a very satisfying BM. What a great way to start the day!

Thank you so much and keep up the good work!

Almost Seriously, XXXXXXXX (I removed the name to preserve our agreed-to anonymity. – Ed)

In thinking about it, I suppose that there are several ways to interpret this email. I may be getting ahead of myself here, but it rather sounds like reading this blog is helping this person have satisfying bowel movements.

I have noticed that as I get older, such things become more important. When you’re young, you hardly even notice that all your plumbing is working amazingly well and I suppose that you take for granted that it always will. Of course as one ages, this turns out not to be the case and that along with calories, sugar, exercise, and stress it becomes one more thing that you have to manage just to get through the day.

So you can imagine the pride I feel that this blog has somehow managed to help this poor soul with one of life’s more potentially embarrassing problems. Of course now I’m curious about any other miraculous properties this blog might have. Has anyone else out there noticed that reading Sarcastically Serious has improved your life? Sudden hair loss reversal? Acne clearing up? Bluebirds serenading your afternoon walks?

2 thoughts on “New and Improved: You

  1. stumpsmcgee

    You know, now that you mentioned it, I have noticed a miraculous phenomenon. My eye muscles are getting stronger…from rolling them so often! šŸ™‚ You asked!

    Like

Leave a Reply

