Superbowl Thursday

I’ve never really been a “sports guy.” I can’t quote you statistics or even pretend to care very much at all about the merits of a nickel defense versus a power play. What’s worse is that even when I try really hard, I find all this excitement about organized sports to be just a little bit silly.

Maybe this is why I haven’t been able to generate any real enthusiasm for the impending Superbowl matchup between the Pittsburgh Steelers and that other lame team that doesn’t stand a snowball’s chance in hell. I suppose that being a native son of western PA I should really be more excited, but I just can’t seem to get all that worked up about it.

Of course Mrs. RW is a huge football fan and she loves watching almost any team play, so I suspect that in order to keep peace in the house I’ll have to play along and pretend that the possibility that Harrison or Polamalu will actually knock someone unconscious during the game this time might be exciting to watch.

This is not to say that I don’t enjoy sports, just that I can’t really understand how people can get so crazy about it. Sure, I will have the traditional Pittsburgh Superbowl snacks laid out like kielbasa with sauerkraut, Heinz ketchup, rigatoni, haluski, wings, lager (that’s Yuengling beer for those not from the ‘Burgh), pop, and some chips, but it’s not like I’m going to go all out or anything.

For some people having your hometown team play in the biggest championship game in the world might be incentive enough to go overboard with the celebrations, but I’m just not that into it. I will probably rent a TV projector so that we can watch the game in life-size, but I’ll skip the surround sound system because that’s just crazy.

I even know some people who get so worked up over sports that they will actually scream and throw things at the TV when things aren’t looking good for their team and I’ve always wondered if perhaps these folks shouldn’t seek counseling or something. Certainly I’ve never engaged in such behavior myself!

Anyway, I’ve got to get going, my new tattoo is starting to itch a bit. It looks really good and I can’t wait to show it to everyone! The yellow diamond didn’t come out quite as good as I’d like and  I’ll have to get it touched up a bit, but it’s still pretty boss.

One thought on “Superbowl Thursday

Leave a Reply

